• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Bottle Stoppers

I am new to turning bottle stoppers. My question is, what species of wood is best at holding threads?

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
A little glue and threads will hold in any but the softest woods.

Threads hold better in face grain this they do in endgrain.

If the wood dents easily with a blunt flat bladed screwdriver it isn’t suitable.

A drop of tight bond will keep the hold near to permanent regardless of grain direction or species.

If using a threaded mandrel for turning you can use the tailstock until the very last
This will let you hold any wood that doesn’t dent.

Last edited:
Simple answer: The harder, the better.

As long as it holds up on the mandrel for turning, you're good. A bit of epoxy, wood glue or CA glue takes care of final assembly.
Some of the more open grain woods like oak can be finicky. They are good if you're careful not to over-tighten but the coarse grain makes fine cuts fragile.

I made a pile of stoppers for this holiday season. Woods I used and had no problems with: Cherry, Mahogany, Hickory, Walnut.
I tried to drill and tap threads in some poplar for a handle but it was too soft. That's ok as it's not that pretty anyway.