• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Buying a new large lathe

I know this topic has been beat to death, but I'm still on the fence between a Laguna 2436 and a Powermatic 3520C. I've spent countless hours researching old threads on the topic from various forums.

I am a woodworking/engineering/computer aided drafting teacher at a high school and have a 3520C at school, it's a great lathe! My thought is to buy the Laguna for at home turning for a bit less money, more HP and bigger swing since my main goal is to turn large bowls. In terms of equipment, I already have a dust collector (I 3d printed one myself), a grinding station and all the tools I would need minus a coring system and a captured hollowing system but those will be bought at a later date.

If I ever outgrow the lathe, my plan would to to make a custom one myself since I know how to weld and machine and have access to a metal shop.

Is this realistic or should I just pony up and get the PM knowing it's a great lathe with an incredible resale value if I do ever outgrow it?

$5500 is about the top I'd want to spend since this is a hobby. Which puts the PM right at the limit.

I did look at (not in person) the Oneway and Robust lathes, but they are out of reach for now.