• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Catch

Website
www.reallyruralwoodworks.com
I am relatively new at this. Is it possible for a catch to damage a bearing?
Depends on the severity of the catch and the lathe (quality , size, robustness, etc) among other factors, but entirely possible to have a catch so bad as to bend the spindle (if it doesn't bend the tool or tool rest first) , or in the case of my Harbor Freight lathe, the prior owner evidently had a catch so bad he literally bent his (admittedly el-cheapo no-name) Spindle roughing gouge to 90 degrees, and actually caused the headstock to warp (as well as a little chunk broken out of the mounting cup that rotating headstock clamps to) - That's actually why I got the whole shebang (including scroll chuck) for so cheap (all I could afford anyway), I think.

But I can't honestly see a catch causing such catastrophic damage to a machine like a Robust or One Way.. I could see it causing damage to bearings on some of those mini or midi lathes but again , it'd have to be a seriously nasty catch (as in change your underwear after checking you didn't damage yourself otherwise)