• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

CBN Wheels

I'm a self taught turner for about 2 years now and have been able to get answers from You Tube but unfortunately sometimes miss the mark. I'm on a fixed income so I have to choose wisely before pulling the trigger. I'm in the market for a 180 grit CBN Wheel and I'm wondering if the less expensive ($99.00) wheels are worth buying compared to the $130.00 wheels. I have an extensive construction background and am very familiar with quality vs cheep junk with tools of the trade. Alot of times a cheap hammer works fine for someone hanging picture frames but would never attempt framing a house with it. The other question is radius corner vs 90 degree. Is there really any advantage to rounded corners? I hardly ever turn green wood and turning is more of a therapeutic hobby more than anything. I don't own any high quality turning tools mostly Harbor Freight with a couple of Hurricane bowl gouges. I've made several scrapers and am noticing I need to sharpen quite often but that just might be because of my lack of experience. I enjoy Spindle turning just as much as bowl turning and have recently discovered an interest in miniatures. Any help is much appreciated.
John

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
I use a 180 CBN for all my spindle tools.