• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Charlie Goldberg

Hello all, I've been using this forum for a couple months and I deeply appreciate all of the help and community that I've been able to find here. So thought I'd say hello and introduce myself.

I am a graphic designer by trade and work for a musical instrument company's in-house design team as an art director. Some of my design work can be seen here as well as some work I've done in the shop and with the lathe: www.charlesgoldberg.net
My father taught me how to use the lathe when I was about 13. I remember then being totally smitten. I was obsessed for about half a year or so and then something else shiny caught my youthful eye and I didn't revisit woodturning again until I bought a used delta 46-700 (same as what my dad had) on craigslist in 2020 as a pandemic hobby of sorts. I fell back in love and have been in the shop pretty religiously throughout the past few years learning new things and having fun. I got a contract installation gig recently that allowed me to make a lathe upgrade and someone in my local turning club (carolina mountain woodturners) had an old PM3520A that they were selling. So that's what I'm working with now and boy is it awesome.