• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Dean Moldenhauer

Hi, all.
My name is Dean and I'm from north of Seattle, WA. I have been a hobby woodworker for a number of years, mostly focused on utility flat-work. I have always wanted to get a lathe and learn woodturning and finally took the first formal step a month ago when I attended a local woodturners group meeting.. Well, it didn't take too much more than that to hook me. A couple days later, I attended an all day beginners' class on woodturning and the hook was set a bit deeper. I have been gearing up a bit for retirement in about 5 years by getting my shop lined out. Going to be upgrading my electrical soon so I can have a more robust and fit-for-purpose network of 120V and 240V receptacles back there. Need to do some more organizing and tidying up and get my lathe and I'll be ready to start "making shavings".