• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Dennis J Gooding aka Dennis in Southern Oregon

Dennis J Gooding

Beta Tester
Beta Tester
I am a retired electrical engineer and am licensed as a Professional Engineer in New York State. I received my engineering degrees from what was then called the U of Mo. School of Mines and Metallurgy, an old-line school that believed that an engineer of any discipline should be familiar with the basics of all. I find myself frequently applying some of this “side knowledge” to woodturning problems. Among other things, I have carried out an extensive (as yet unpublished) mathematical and experimental study of the factors affecting the design of boring bars for deep hollowing.