• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

drill press problem?

I'm fairly new to woodturning. I bought a little Grizzly 8" bench top drill press in January. It's my first drill press.

Now, I knew it wasn't the top of the line when I bought it. But I do mostly small stuff--pens, candlesticks, tool handles--and don't have room for a larger drill press.

When I first got it, I noticed that the quill had some lateral play in it. I talked to a Technician at Grizzly and he told me to send it back. They replaced the chuck but didn't fix the lateral play. I've been told that the play is normal up to a point. OK. But when I put a brad point drill bit into the new chuck and center it (from two directions) on the center mark of a pen blank and then manually turn the chuck a half turn, the point of the bit is now off center by at least a sixteenth of an inch...again in two directions. The point is making a small circle as I turn the chuck.

I can't believe this is normal Am I wrong? Any advice or help would be appreciated.

And any recommendations for a more precise drill press at or preferably under $100 would be welcome. How about the Delta?

Thanks

DWFII