• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Face Shield

I've been turning for a couple months, have a Trend airsheild. I have used it probably 90% of the time, bout the only time I have not is when turning green wood. I wear it to protect my lungs and to keep dust out of my eyes from turning. Welp, my son was visiting and wanted a demo so I was happy to do so. I was turning half a branch, maybe 6x6 piece. It was wet so I figured I was good with no mask so I could talk to him about what I was doing, kinda like a serious rookie teaching a first timer. I was atleast standing off to the side mostly, or so I thought. That darn thing came flying off in the blink of an eye. Missed my eyes and glasses, barely, did not hit my nose square on but nailed my left nostril and cheek bone with blow. OUCH, it stung, was numb for a couple minutes. It could have been worse, hit me square on the bridge/broke it, or busted my glasses, hit my eye, teeth, etc. Sure thankful for all the advice from folks about standing out of the line of fire! I told my son it was done for a teaching moment for him.... LOL, yea, for him.... he scolded me pretty good. I don't think I will ever turn on my lathe again without FIRST putting on the shield. I do need to figure out how to replaced the clear-film (?) over the shield, it is getting blurry, or, is that my eyes from getting old/tired.... LOL

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team