• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

George Newton

Hello, my name is George. I have been a hand tool woodworker for many years, but 6 months ago dipped a toe into the power world by getting a Rikon 1218VS midi lathe. I made a beer tap handle (in cherry) for a friend as well as a few gunsmith-style screwdrivers and a London pattern handle for a brad pusher (all in dogwood).

I also have a question for you more experienced hands. How tightly should I tighten the quill on the tailstock? I had been advancing it just to the point where the blank seemed not to move with respect to the drive center and that has functioned fine. But I got a Sorby Steb center, thinking it might be more forgiving of catches. It seems to me that in order for the central spring-loaded point to retract far enough for the outer ring of teeth to engage the wood, it required a lot of tightening of the quill, and I have worried it might damage the bearings.

Any thoughts?

Dave Landers

Beta Tester
Website
dlwoodturning.com
Welcome,