• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Greg Hislop

Hello. New to woodturning. I'm a youth baseball coach, and many of our players use wood bats to train in the offseason. There's also a wood bat tournament that my team plays in. So my only interest is in making wood bats. Saw a couple videos on youtube, thought it looked cool, so I bought the cheapest lathe I could find, rigged it up on an old table saw, bought a few blanks, and got to work.

The lathe itself is one of those Vevor 14x40" models you can buy for $200.00. Came with a skew, a chisel, and a parting tool. So la-dee-dah, juust about everything about it was a complete pain in my *** to start. Here's an overview of the problems:

--- Mounted the lathe on the saw table with lag bolts, washers, and wingnuts, through a 1" thick x 3 foot flat piece of lumber (actually an old stair riser) to give it extra stability. Shaking is minimal as long as wood is properly balanced (big if)
---The tool rest was too low, and the allen wrench adjustment wouldn't hold it at the higher setting. The manual horizontal slider adjustment tightening bar conflicted with the junction where the lathe extension attaches (i.e. i couldn't slide the tool rest right or left toward the middle because the twist adjustment would jam up against the connection area). So ditched the bar, and got a wingnut for the bottom.