• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

How much room do I need?

Hello,

I'm a woodworker who plans to get into turning. Before I get the lathe I need to plan for the space to put it in. I've got a space along the back of the garage (22 feet wide) that I plan to build another work bench (already have one along the right-side wall of the garage) on one side and the lathe on the other side.

My wife has been very supportive of my woodworking. Because she's seen that buying small and then upgrading is more expensive than just starting big, she's pretty much given the ok for a Powermatic 3520B.

So, my question for all of you is, how much space on the back of my garage do I need to keep free for the lathe? If I understand correctly, with the bed extension, the unit will be about 6.5 feet long. If I left 1 foot on the headstock side and 3.5 feet on the tailstock side (for a total of 11 feet) would that be about right or not enough or could I get away with a bit less (leaving more space for the cabinet to be built on the left side of the back of the garage).

This is my first post here. I hope to have more by the summer.

Thanks for your help

-Pete Copeland
Houston, TX

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert