• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

John DeSalvo

Hi all, I'm fairly new to turning, I did a few things a couple of years ago, but never really got into it. I have a Jet mini lathe so I can't do anything very big. If I stick with it this time I think I'll get a midi lathe so I can turn a decent sized bowl. I wanted to make some handles for some DIY carbide turning tools and I had to figure out a way to drill them using the lathe. I couldn't use my chuck because my bed was too short, so I had to use a collet.

I have a woodworking shop in my basement and have been making stuff out of wood for the past 25 years. I started out making furniture and moved on to boxes and even turned some bentwood rings. Now I am trying to teach myself how to turn segmented and open segmented turnings. I can't make myself purchase a big chunk of wood and then turn most of it into shavings, so I opt for segmented turnings. If I could source some free downed lumber I might give it a shot, but I never seem to find any.

I hope to learn a lot from this site and it's members.

The only other thing that has me hooked is cars. I have a 1955 Chevy 210 two door post and a 1963 Corvette convertible.

Attachments

• _75side-55.jpeg
    _75side-55.jpeg
    68.2 KB · Views: 19
  • DSC_3852.jpeg
    DSC_3852.jpeg
    456.4 KB · Views: 19
Howdy and welcome from Texas!

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!