• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

John Freund

New wood turner here... Got a lathe for Father's Day (the wife and kids threw down nicely!), a little Jet 1015VS. The wife and I rolled over to Rockler and picked up a few tools to get me started.

I first turned in high school, 30+ years ago. Dabbled with it here and there over the years, but never owned a lathe until now.

I work as a woodworker. Own my own company, called Five Birds Custom Woodworking. But, it's mostly square stuff... Everything from custom built-ins to custom furniture, boxes, hand carving, electric guitars, etc. Been working in and out of the trades, mostly carpentry, for 35+ years now. Mostly focusing on finer and finer work, as the economy has allowed.

Not exactly sure which direction(s) I want to go with my turning. The wife wants more wooden cabinet knobs around the house... I keep looking at boxes and bowls.

Anyway, happy Thursday, gotta head towards the shop to put some more finish on a few tables and finish up two cabinets. Hope everyone has a great day!

The main website will have local chapters. Joined several years ago and worth every penny. Turning and furniture will open up some designs for spindles, legs, etc.
Welcome!

John,