• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Joshua Rhodes

Hello everyone, I'm Joshua, I from the wonderful state of South Carolina. I am a complete newbie in regards to woodturning. I've long considered it as a hobby I'd get to when I was too old and unable to hunt, hike a mountain or ride fast things on 2 wheels. Well apparently that age is 35, according to my pregnant wife. She kindly requested in no uncertain terms that I find a hobby closer to home. So I here I am gleaning as much knowledge as you good people would like to dispose upon me. I've never turned wood before but from where I sit it looks very methodical and therapeutic so I'm going to give it a shot. I'm currently shopping lathes and tools and learning about the world of wood turning. I thoroughly look forward to interacting and learning with all of you.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
Welcome,

I encourage you to connect with a local chapter of the AAW.
AAW chapter provide the personal interaction.

Most clubs have demonstrations at each meeting to show members how to...
Great resource for tools, classes, mentoring, wood......,