• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Laguna 1524 with PWM Catch and STOP!

Hi friends,
I'm new to turning and my laguna 1524 is my first lathe. I'm using carbide tools and I've been really surprised that while roughing out a square blank, usually around 500 rpm to 800 rpm, there are times when the tool will catch the corner of the blank and trap the tool at the tool rest. I'm at a 90 degree angle--meaning perfectly centered wth the tool to to blank. When that happens, the lathe stop turning entirely. Is this a safety feature of the PWM that the lathe has or am I breaking my lathe? I don't know if I'm doing something wrong or if the tool isn't sharp enough or the lathe isn't spinning fast enough, but it seems like the lathe shouldn't be stopping so easily. Any help is greatly appreciated!

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!
Howdy Aaron......

This post will probably end up in the "getting started" forum......but, I have a few questions.....

What is the size of the wood you're turning? Is it end grain or cross grain?.....meaning is it a bowl blank, or a spindle turning?

What specific tool are you using to bring it to round?

When you say the lathe stops entirely, do you mean you have to hit the start button to get it going again?....or, is it still under power?

-----odie-----

Hi Odie,
Thanks for your response