• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

laguna 1524 with PWM catch and STOP!?

Hi friends,
I'm new to turning and my laguna 1524 is my first lathe. I'm using carbide tools and I've been really surprised that while roughing out a square blank, usually around 500 rpm to 800 rpm, there are times when the tool will catch the corner of the blank and trap the tool at the tool rest. I'm at a 90 degree angle--meaning perfectly centered wth the tool to to blank. When that happens, the lathe stop turning entirely. Is this a safety feature of the PWM that the lathe has or am I breaking my lathe? I don't know if I'm doing something wrong or if the tool isn't sharp enough or the lathe isn't spinning fast enough, but it seems like the lathe shouldn't be stopping so easily. Any help or guidance on what I'm doing wrong or whether this is just a feature of the lathe is greatly appreciated!
Thanks!
Aaron

When you turn a square to round it is easier to start from the back (tailstock side) instead of turning head on into the side. You will be turning a lot of air by going directly into the work and get lots of tear out too. If you push in just a little too much you have a catch or worse the blank pulls the too out of your hands.

By cutting in from the back the fiber of the wood is supported and reduces tear out