• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Larry Mercier

I've been turning for approx. 20 yrs. I have a Vicmarc 300 lathe. I primarily turn bowls, platters, Christmas ornaments, and pens. I've learned a lot through club membership and youtube videos. I have a whole lot of things to learn yet.

I am a retired high school teacher who was introduced to the lathe shortly after retirement. Since I bought my first lathe, I have turned pens/pencils, Christmas ornaments including: birdhouses, bells, and gnomes, and bowls both large and small. My latest focus is turning hollow forms using Trent Bosch tools. I fully enjoy turning and gifting my finished pieces, if my wife, who is my biggest fan, allows them to be given others. Although I have gone to several symposia, taken hands on classes taught by Jimmy Clewes and Alan Lacer, and watched many You Tube demo's, I have so much to learn. But I look at my need to learn more as a positive inspiration.

Combining my wife's appreciation of my projects with my need to learn more, I think turning is a great hobby that will never grow stagnant. Enough about me, let's talk shop.

Howdy and welcome from Texas! Pictures please.

I would love to see some of your work.

Larry,
A really good wife-o-meter is a great tool