• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Mark Racowsky

Hello from northern California. I'm a former High School teacher (math) who has been working (with) wood since I was in Jr. High School and now I'm well beyond that age. I became interested in lathe work about 30 years ago… Goodness! when I put it in those terms it doesn't seem like it has been that long. Anyway, I've taken a few classes when time and money became available and now I focus mostly on bowls and boxes making bottle stoppers and back scratchers with left over scraps. I've sold a few items but mostly give my products away to friends or make charitable donations. I recently upgraded my Nova 16-24 belt-drive to the DVR Headstock and, so far, I'm pretty glad I did, although there's a lot to the control module beyond controlling speed that, at this time, leaves me clueless. At least I know how to control the speed so I can still operate the machine. I don't typically take photos of my bowls, although I have been encouraged to do so. Still, I do have a few pics and I've attached those photos I could find of three of my bowls. Oh, and a picture of my dog Maggie in front of my shop. Lathe with w