• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Mentor needed

I've been turning now for about six months and have found it to be relaxing and rewarding. I've read many articles and books and have watched hours of video----all have been very helpful. I have also spent many hours on the lathe. I think a mentor would now be a great help as I attempt to hone my skills. I live in east central Indiana----any thoughts or volunteers?

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
Join a club if you can find one near you. There is a great club that meets in Northern Indianapolis. Probably lots more.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
I've been turning now for about six months and have found it to be relaxing and rewarding. I've read many articles and books and have watched hours of video----all have been very helpful. I have also spent many hours on the lathe. I think a mentor would now be a great help as I attempt to hone my skills. I live in east central Indiana----any thoughts or volunteers?

I recommend you contact one or more of the local chapters in your area. Hands on instruction is by far the most effective way to advance your skills and increase your enjoyment of woodturning. Many clubs offer formal mentoring. Consider taking a formal class at a craft school or a turner's studio.

The AAW web site has a chapters search which produced 8 chapters serving Indiana.