• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Michael McDonough

Hi,

I'm relatively new to turning (a few months). I have a Delta Midi Lathe and I'm considering whether a band saw would be helpful; particulary to make bowl blanks.

Any opinions about whether it's a good idea and, if so, what brand/size?

I've been looking at a Jet 14" or a Rikon 14". Prices are comparable at the local supplier I've been checking out with the Jet being a bit more expensive.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
I am enjoying the Rikon 10-325 14" BS that I bought last year. I think they have even sweetend the pot with the 10-350, though i think that adds about $500 to the price of the 10-325

If you are turning bowls from log blanks, you can get by with a chainsaw. If you are turning bowls from boards, a bandsaw really helps. I have two, and since I sell, I can justify the need, though need some times has nothing to do with tool buying.

My small saw has a 1 hp motor, and cuts 6 inches high. This is perfect for cutting circles on anything that fits under the blade guides. There are some models that will take a 6 inch riser block so you can cut 12 inches high. They work, but not as well as a saw that is designed to cut 12 inches high.

My big saw cuts 16 inches high, and has a 4.5 hp motor on it. I use it to slab up log blanks. Really saves time as the blanks are so much more uniform than I can ever get with the chainsaw.