• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Mike Lake

Hi - my name is Mike Lake, and I live in Bend, Oregon. As the son of a finish carpenter and custom furniture maker, I have been a casual woodworker and turner for most of my 52 years. My profession and passion is metalworking and engineering, but I am a capable woodworker as well.

30 years ago, as my Senior Project in engineering school, I designed and built a very large wood lathe for my Dad's shop. Dad passed away a little over 10 years ago, and my Mom recently moved away from the place where I grew up and my Dad's wood shop still existed. As such, I have been moving equipment out of his shop and finding a home for it.

This brings me to the AAW forum - I figured if a good home for an enormous wood lathe could be found, it would likely be found here. I feel a little bit phony joining the forum just to sell a lathe, but I'm just being honest. This lathe is a very specialized and purpose-built item that has sentimental meaning to me; but I do not have room for it and I will likely not use it. It should go to an enthusiast who will appreciate it.

Thanks for the opportunity to introduce myself, and I will post a for sale thread in the marketplace for this lathe, along with a few pictures.

- Mike