• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

New turner, new wood

I'm rather new to woodturning and have acquired some wood from a few sources, but I'm not sure on just how to handle it.
I've used wood glue to seal the ends. I've read about it and money is not easy to come by right now. The lengths are what is bothering me at this time. I have about a dozen from 5 to 8 inches in diameter and 15 to 53 inches long. I also have many 4 inches and less diameter and less than 26 inches long. I have some more at my brothers which I haven't had time to examine, and we're working on my late brothers house and will be cutting wood there.
As I'm still learning how to use the gouges, the time it will take to dry them is not a worry. I'm also do not have any idea exactly what type of turning I want to get into, but free wood is free wood, and I'll not walk away from it.
My questions are, what is the best length to cut them too? How is the best way to store them? Where is the best place to store them?
As to storing them, I have a kinda damp basement, a very warm attic (if they are cut to short lengths) and a tool shed.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
You did not mention species
If you can’t turn it for many months I would suggest drying it for spindles.

if you have a bandsaw cut the larger pieces into 4, 3, 2, and 1 inch squares the length of the pieces.