• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

New & with a lid question?

I'm pretty new to modern wood turning. Had a lathe and did a little work about 35-40 years ago but never anything sophisticated. Last year bought small lathe and began turning pens. Fun but, I want to do other small things like boxes.
I'm looking for tips on getting a relatively snug fit for lids on boxes. With lots of patient cutting/checking I can not seem to get a "fit". Would like to be able to get a fit sufficient to be able to invert without lid falling off. Is that realistic? Or,?

Thanks for any help or tips.
Regis

Not only is it realistic it is fairly easily done. Several things to consider with a primary being the wood must be dry. Keep in mind that even after finishing the wood can move and cause the lid to stick making it hard to remove or loosen to the point of falling off when turned over. Best fit will be with an end grain lid as movement will be balanced and therefore easier to address.