• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Newbee questions

Hi Gentlement and Ladies, I'm new to woodturning and I am in the process of buying a Vicmarc 300 Long Bed. I intend on turning mainly bowls and once I'm proficient I'll move on to vessels and more artistic work. I will probably have many questions at first so please bear with me! My only exposure to woodturning has been mainly through books and many videos. The last time I counted, I had 62 and it keeps on going up, I just ordered 2 more. Now that I know who the major players are and what techniques they are using, I feel confident enough to actually turn something! My first question? I watched Philip Moulthrop on one of the AAW videos recently and was wondering where he obtains his stock material. I live in Ontario Canada and even although I have not done a lot of research I don't think we have the variety of woods he and his father use. I really like the simplicity of their work. Where can I obtain some of the heavy duty tools he uses. They are not in the catalogues. Commercial operations that make large salad bowls always have intrigued me. What type of lathe do these operations use? Can they be obtained or do they have to manufactured specially. In order to be profitable I would think some form of CNC lathe would enter the picture. So many questions I have...sorry I don't want to dominate this site! I'll keep watching other threads for possible answer