• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Newbie, With Questions

I've been bouncing around this forum for @ 6 months and confess to information overload inasmuch as I've been turning bowls for only @ 1 year. So much to learn, and so little time! And so much great information on this forum!

But, I've recently registered for a woodturning class which will cover not only bowl turning but spindle and end grain turning a well. I have turning tools which will, I think, serve me well for the bowl turning segement of the class. However, the only tools I have which can be used for the other segments of the class are a 1 1/2" spindle gouge a 3/8" spindle gouge (looks small to me) and a diamond parting tool.

Finally, the questions: What do forum members suggest I purchase as a "starter set" for end grain and between centers turning? What tools and what sizes do you consider essential? What tools should I consider adding to this "starter set" down the road?

Thank you for your help.