• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Norbert Ploetz

I am Norbert Ploetz. I am a newbie to AAW but not to turning.I am a professional woodcarver . I've been carving for about 35 yrs.Woodworking is how I was trained by my father who was a Pipe Organ builder from Germany. I grew up in his workshop doing everything from carving to inlayed veneer work.All was high quality work because he did not accept anything less. Spindle turning was part of my training, although I did not do all that much. I got sucked more seriously into the vortex approx. 6 yrs ago when I purchased a Jet 1642 2hp. I will be selling it because I got sucked deeper into this vortex yesterday, when I ordered my American Beuty with 3hp. I've been turning and carving some vessels. As soon as I figure how to post photos ,I will show some examples. Please feel free to pick my brain on carving .ThankYou

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
Welcome to AAW.

I suggest you connect with a local AAW chapter.

you are an easy day's drive from Pittsburgh where the AAW will hold its annual symposium in June.
A great way to spend 3 days learning and amassing ideas.

Al

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!
Welcome Norbert......