• Congratulations to Bernie Hrytzak, winner of the July 2022 Turning Challenge (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to John Hicks for "Big leaf Maple Burl Hollow Form" being selected as Turning of the Week of August 15, 2022 (click here for details)
  • August Turning Challenge: Turn a Ball-in-a-ball (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Nova Galaxi DVR 1644

Joined
Sep 28, 2021
Messages
11
Likes
1
Location
Rogers, MN
I've had the main panel and HMI sent to Florida 3 times since last November. Machine has never run right since then. Nothing happens when you push run. If you touch the spindle it takes off at a high rate of rpms and then slows to set speed. Running in reverse it constantly clicks and jerks. If you apply any resistance, it gets louder and jerkier. It will eventually just stop running all together.
Has anyone had problems with the Galaxi? Has anyone had success replacing the main board and HMI?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
1,245
Likes
1,229
Location
Ponsford, MN
I do not have a Nova DVR , but about 10 years ago I purchased a Grizzly with a similar motor and controller. The motor in mine was not a part of the spindle in other words it was a belt drive with the motor mounted to a C-face. The motor although supposedly rated at 2 HP and 3550 RPM did not have enough tork to do much of anything. The controller fried itself and rather then pay the price for a new one I bought a 3PH 2HP 1725 RPM induction motor and a TECO VFD for less money, but I did have to fabricate a new motor mount. This of course can't be done on your lathe but I do have some back ground applying industrial controls and my educated guess is that the optical position sensor that is mounted on the motor is faulty, that is assuming that the people in Florida that checked the control panel knew what they are doing. The jerky operation is likely caused by a defective position sensor and if they knew what they were doing they would have had you ship the entire headstock to Florida.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2010
Messages
194
Likes
103
Location
McKinney,Texas
There is supposed to be a usb cable that can be plugged into a computer and diagnostics and updated software can be done on line.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
1,245
Likes
1,229
Location
Ponsford, MN
There is supposed to be a usb cable that can be plugged into a computer and diagnostics and updated software can be done on line.
It would take more then a cable you would need a program installed in the computer to actually run the diagnostics and if it was being done without the position sensor or the motor then all you are diagnosing is the main panel and the HMI.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2010
Messages
194
Likes
103
Location
McKinney,Texas
It would take more then a cable you would need a program installed in the computer to actually run the diagnostics and if it was being done without the position sensor or the motor then all you are diagnosing is the main panel and the HMI
Don I own a DVR XP Nova woodturning lathe I have twice upgraded the control board. The last upgrade came with the speed dial and a 5000 rpm top speed it also came with an interface cable that when hocked to the internet through a PC you can download software directly from Nova or Nova can “look“into your machine and diagnose problems. This is the way it’s supposed to work.
If the above info is correct “ it came with the instructions for my new circuit board” then it should be a no brainer.
I have no idea if Nova has followed thru on this or not but it was supposed to be implemented before the Galaxy lathe came out.
To my knowledge if the main panel is still hooked up to the motor then Nova is supposed to be able to diagnose ALL electronic components in the motor remotely thru the internet
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
1,245
Likes
1,229
Location
Ponsford, MN
Don I own a DVR XP Nova woodturning lathe I have twice upgraded the control board. The last upgrade came with the speed dial and a 5000 rpm top speed it also came with an interface cable that when hocked to the internet through a PC you can download software directly from Nova or Nova can “look“into your machine and diagnose problems. This is the way it’s supposed to work.
If the above info is correct “ it came with the instructions for my new circuit board” then it should be a no brainer.
I have no idea if Nova has followed thru on this or not but it was supposed to be implemented before the Galaxy lathe came out.
To my knowledge if the main panel is still hooked up to the motor then Nova is supposed to be able to diagnose ALL electronic components in the motor remotely thru the internet
That is good that they can do it so why didn't they do that for Dick Marten????
You say you had to upgrade the control board twice and they put a top speed of 5000 RPM! That is unbelievable.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2010
Messages
194
Likes
103
Location
McKinney,Texas
I have no idea what Nova did or didn’t do for Dick Martin.
The capability is there or the literature that came originally with my upgrade is wrong.
l didn’t say that I HAD to upgrade my control board.
The first time I upgraded (changed my control panel) it was to be able to use the Nova wireless remote. Nothing was wrong with the original board. The second time I upgraded my control board was to add the speed dial. Before this board, speed changes were made with blister buttons. This upgrade also included dynamic braking. And yes a top speed of 5000RPM!
Unbelievable? All Nova Galaxies ever built have a top speed of 5000RPM.
Don, I really don’t like being called a liar.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
1,245
Likes
1,229
Location
Ponsford, MN
And yes a top speed of 5000RPM!
Unbelievable? All Nova Galaxies ever built have a top speed of 5000RPM.
Don, I really don’t like being called a liar.
What is unbelievable to me is that they would have a top speed of 5000 RPM on a wood lathe when 1500 RPM is more than enough speed.
You will have to enlighten me I didn't know that I called you a liar.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2010
Messages
194
Likes
103
Location
McKinney,Texas
Don: Many of the Baxter style threading jigs use a router bit to cut threads in wood. This bit is held in the head stock with a #2 Morris taper.
Which will make cleaner threads a lathe with a top speed of 2000 rpm or a lathe with a top speed of 5000 rpm?
This is not the first time that the top speed of a Nova lathe has been mentioned on the Woodturning Discussion Forum.
It is the first time that anyone has called this fact “Unbelievable”
If you still find this unbelievable look up the Nova Galaxy on line. And read the technical manual.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
907
Likes
614
Location
Erie, PA
My DVR3000 was able to be upgraded to the new control box and now has a top speed of 5000 RPM. Now with my Baxter Threads Masters I could cut threads on any wood that I have tried with the 3000 RPM of the lathes I use them on but having 5000 RPM available ensures nice clean cuts on any wood there is especially using the 1/4" carbide thread cutter threading a 3/8" hole. I have never even considered a router (like John Lucas uses) because the Baxter works so well with the lathes and speeds that I have.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
17
Likes
16
Location
Pine Grove, CA
Don I own a DVR XP Nova woodturning lathe I have twice upgraded the control board. The last upgrade came with the speed dial and a 5000 rpm top speed it also came with an interface cable that when hocked to the internet through a PC you can download software directly from Nova or Nova can “look“into your machine and diagnose problems. This is the way it’s supposed to work.
If the above info is correct “ it came with the instructions for my new circuit board” then it should be a no brainer.
I have no idea if Nova has followed thru on this or not but it was supposed to be implemented before the Galaxy lathe came out.
To my knowledge if the main panel is still hooked up to the motor then Nova is supposed to be able to diagnose ALL electronic components in the motor remotely thru the internet
Tim, I own a DVR XP and would really be interested in the upgrade you mention, but don't find it on the teknatool site. Could you gice the the SKU#?
 
Top