• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Nova Orion

Hello All! I am a beginner/intermediate turner looking to upgrade from my Jet 1220 lathe. I am seriously considering the new Nova Orion machine. I like the rotating head (my neck issues) and the relatively small/expandable footprint for my small space. This is a new product and unfortunately I am unable to see one in person. I was wondering if anyone has this machine and can provide any insight. Any red flags? Fit and Finish? Glitches etc. It is strange making such a big investment without ever touching the product.
Thanks in advance!

I looked at the lathe on the internet and I see that the motor is DVR and is direct drive so no belts, so D = direct drive maybe, V = variable maybe and R = ???. The speed range is listed as 100 to 5000 rpm whereas 2500 RPM should fast enough for small diameter spindle turnings and the larger the diameter the slower you operate and require more torque. Note: that most lathes are equipped with 3 phase induction motors controlled by a VFD (Variable Frequency Drive) that produces a relatively constant torque over the speed range and have at least 2 mechanical speed ranges where in the low range the motor runs faster than the spindle and thus multiplies the torque. I would want to know what the torque output is over the entire speed range.