• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Pete Halsted

I have been turning for all of about 2-3 months.
I live in Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri.
I mainly do traditional woodworking using handtools. The bandsaw is the only power tool I use on that side of the hobby.

I started with a WEN 8" and a set of Amazon carbide tools to see if I was going to like turning or not.
Made a few snowmen, angels, birdhouses, and a few bowls and quickly decided I was enjoying it but not the underpowered / undersized WEN
I upgraded to a Jet 1221VS with the legs and extension bed and lucked into a bin full of HSS traditional lathe tools.