• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Respirator discussion

I’m new to wood turning but nothing wood working. I’ve currently use a respirator with P100 filter and when sanding I hook my orbital sander up to dust vac hose (with vac bag in place) to keep dust down.

I am seeing so much information on PPE with turning. I was considering keeping with respirator and adding of course the face shield and when sanding incorporate wet sanding along with dust collection (dust deputy and sho vac).

I was discussing with another wood turner who said I really needed a respirator with air flowing through it…ie JSP brand or something similar. I’m not opposed to investing down the road an Versaflow system but in the meantime am I killing my lungs with my current set up?

No your current setup is fine from a filtering perspective. The pumped air systems are more about comfort, some practicality, fogging of glasses, and easier to breathe for those with respiratory issues . I have used both. Respirators under face shields is problematic - fogging, not enough room for filters, straps for shield and respirator. I use a Versaflow now. I dont believe I’m any more protected, but I’m a heck of a lot more comfortable, which means I’m far more likely to use it.

I agree the PAPR's are more comfortble particularly with glasses or beards, but a lot more expensive. And P100 is P100 regardless of the filter type.