• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Robert VandenBroeke

Good day,
I am new to turning.
Well I'm not counting turning a lazy Susan that I made over 50 years ago in high school, which I still have.

But it looks like a lot of fun, so why not try it.
I am hoping there might be someone in my area that I could ask advice from.
The closest chapter seems to be up in Provo, Utah.
I've watched a few YouTube videos, and I think lidded boxes and bowls would be nice for gifts, and to keep some for ourselves.
I looked at the gallery here and everything is extraordinary, such talented people.

Welcome to the forum, Robert. Be careful, turning is addictive! :) If there is a turning club in your area, that would be a great place to start. Video's are helpful as well.

Turner's here are very helpful and will answer any question that you may have on turning, tools, safety and other things pertaining to turning. Happy turning and have fun!

Welcome to the forum, Robert. Be careful, turning is addictive! :) If there is a turning club in your area, that would be a great place to start. Video's are helpful as well.

Turner's here are very helpful and will answer any question that you may have on turning, tools, safety and other things pertaining to turning. Happy turning and have fun!
Thanks Lamar,
I appreciate the welcome.