• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Russ Knudsen

I really don't know how to get involved in the forum. Sounds like Greek to me. I have been a self-taught woodworker for over 30 years. Everything I have done, cabinets, furniture has been from reading, experiments, and ouch!!. I started turning a couple of years ago with my father-in-law's Craftsman and I burnt up the motor. I am now turning out about 10 or more bowls a week from whatever wood I can get my hands on. Love It. My wood is always local. Aspen, Pine, Russian Olive, Birch, Juniper, and anything I can get my hands on. I have no access to a local group, but I am learning a lot from being a member of AAW. My main problem is knowing what I can put on my bowls that is not toxic. I think most finishes, once they have been cured are nontoxic. I NEED TO KNOW. How do you know?

Website
www.reallyruralwoodworks.com