• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Scott Douglass

Hello Folks,
I spent the last 25 years building custom cabinetry, finish carpentry and general remodeling work. A couple of years ago I purchased a 12" x 36" Grizzly lathe from a customer and have been anxious to dive into it. I'm new to wood turning and would love some insight as to techniques, stance, how to hold tools, adjust the tool rest and just about anything else that would help. I have been through a multitude of You Tube videos (too many) and really haven't picked up the basics. So far I've managed to turn a walnut mallet and a small spalted maple bowl out of my firewood pile. Since then I've purchased a Super-Nova 2 chuck bundle, a Wolverine sharpening system with the Vari-grind 2 and I've got several different chisels that I've picked up here and there. What a difference sharp chisels make!
I'm semi-retired and really want to get more involved in turning. Anyone have a suggestion as to where I can find some good basic starting points for turning techniques? I did just find a book online: 'A Course In Wood Turning' by Archie S. Milton and Otto K. Wohlers from 1919. I'm sure some techniques may have changed since then, but it may be worth a look. Looking forward to any suggestions.Spalted maple bowl cropped.jpg