• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Sean DeVore

Hello everyone, my name is Sean, I am new to woodturning. My hobbies are archery and music. I also do metal fabrication, usually out of necessity ;) I just recently purchased a rural home with a shop and some land where I can practice my sport. Shortly afterward a dear friend encountered another hurdle in his fight against MS and as usual, he refused to accept a "donation". So I acquired his Shopsmith under the guise that it will always be his, he is welcome to use it and has first right of refusal if I sell it (which I'll give it back to him first). I hadn't turned wood since high school. One thing I remembered was how much I enjoyed the experience. So I grabbed some old wood and started using this Shopsmith and have been having a blast. I want to learn more about turning safety and technique. I recently purchased two bowl gouges, a 1/2" Crown and a 3/8" V Thompson a Nova 3 chuck, and a live center for the tailstock. I haven't a clue how to use either bowl gouge properly, so I watch a lot of YouTube videos and have joined a woodturning group on Facebook which is where I found out about this organization. I searched your archives and there isn't a club anywhere near me. I was surprised there is only one AAW club in the state of Wyoming. Thank you for allowing me into your group. I have attached a few photos of my newly built workshop within my