• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Shraga Bellon

Hi to all,
I have been turning for about 20 years. I retired in 2016 and my hobby became my full time occupation.
My shop is 1500 sqft or 1068 sqm and is located N/E of Toronto Canada on our equestrian centre.

Started , as many do, with pen making and then progressed to larger projects
I have a Oneway 2436 lathe and a few smaller lathes. Also have a handmade wooden lathe for making Newel posts for staircase railings. This enables me to make spirals and other squiggly lines similar to the Beall Pen Wizard but on a much larger scale.
Until now I have focused on bowls and platters. The largest platter I ever made was 30 inches in diameter
A few months ago I tried deep hollowing of single piece blanks for vases. I was using the Oneway Deep Hollowing system which while it works well, is really is only good for up to to about 12 inches (30 cm). Deeper than that and my boring bar starts "dancing" violently.
I have just purchased a Clark Deep hollowing System with the Ultra boring bar (waiting for delivery) which, according to the manufacturer, will enable me to bore in excess of 36 inches (91 cm). I do not make segmented items, only single piece items, boring through endgrain.

If anybody has experience with these larger Items I would welcome any advice/suggestions they can give me.

Thank you

Unfortunately they have not yet delivered yet.