• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

small hollowing tools

Hi folks, I am new to this site and thought I'd ask for some advice. I am new to turning and have a Jet 1014VS that I am working with, I love the lathe since I am mostly interested in turning small objects such as twig pots, candle holders, boxes, etc. The tools I am using are hand-me-downs from my dad and they are probably the cheapest Chinese made tools he could find, they are working so-so for turning so far but need sharpening on a very regular basis with the woods I am using.

Due to financial restrictions I am currently using some hickory and oak limbs that came down in the Oklahoma ice storm of 2007. I have had good luck with the wood so far, I even have some nice spalted wood to work with eventually. And with the recent tornado that passed over my house on Monday I should have more wood...I needed more wood but sure didn't want it delivered like that!!!

I am needing some hollowing tools and am considering making my own since I don't see how anyone can ask up to and over $100 for a hollowing tool, I don't care if it has a carbide cutter or not it is ridiculous. I am thinking carbide will be best for me since the hickory is like a rock but my question is this...for initial and finish hollowing would it be best to get the flat (like the Easy Wood Tools) or "cupped" (like the Hunter) bits to make my own tools?