• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Spindle Gouge Skipping Across Wood

I'm just starting out and practicing using my tools. I bought the Benjamin Best 8 piece set. I've been using the 1 inch gouge as a roughing gouge, and then when I have a round piece, I try to practice going back and forth on the piece of wood (cherry) to get a smooth cut. I am finding it to be very challenging. The gouge skips across the piece. How do I prevent this from happening?

IMG_3271.jpg

Website
www.reallyruralwoodworks.com