• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Tim Ciscel

Guess the title of the post was supposed to be my name...don't see how to change it

Hello folks,
I'm very new to this and don't know the extent that I will become just involved or addicted !!!

Not quite retired yet !

I had some experience with metal turning as a co-op job coming out of high school prior to military service. Never got back to that even though the intricate measurements always drew me in.

Now the real reason I am turning....funny but it became an obsession to duplicate a Duck Call from one of the very well known whom has passed away. It's been going well and for me extremely easy to turn them even though I'm on a large and not a mini.
Funny that I'm using the caliper and thinking precision LOL
I have a question but its a not really a turning question and I'm not certain which section to post it.

Tim

Last edited:
Welcome. Worked with machined parts so I know the tendency to work with precision. Turning isn't as precise but, if you are like me, any woodworking is done with "precision." Used to live in NC...miss the fresh seafood! Questions are accepted and will be moved by admin if needed. We learn by asking.

Classified ad- For sale- one set of encyclopedias. Don't need. Wife knows everything.

Thanks for the Welcome feel.

Here's my question....I'll try and attach a photo.