• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Tim Cheek

As the title states, I'm a total beginner attempting some first pieces from a random tree that fell across the road and was cut up (in North Georgia). Any guesses as to what wood this is? As you can see, I didn't get it cut into blanks fast enough and it is developing some cracks.

I have a Rikon mini lathe with a Nova midi chuck, a couple of Hurricane bowl gouges and a pair of PSI bowl scrapers. I did this one almost entirely with the scrapers after watching a couple of Robo Hippie's fine videos.

I'm sure this comes a surprise to no one, but it is very difficult to get a good finish. No matter what, I can always feel the end grain. Hopefully, it'll get better with time!

IMG_5674.jpg

IMG_5675.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
What else did you do to the bowl? Sanding schedule? I see some tearout and that takes a lot of sanding or good cuts. One thing to help when using scrapers is to wet the surface. Also using negative rake scraper will reduce the aggressiveness of the tool and give good to excellent finish. All this will take practice and does not come overnight.