• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Tried and true

Beginner here and I was thinking tried and true original will be an easy thing to start with
I have a box I made and want to try tried and true original
Do I use it inside and out
And can I just rub it on by hand. all the videos I watched are turning it on a lathe and then rubbing it in

It is food safe, easy to repair, and makes for a nice finish. I have used it on all kinds of turnings. I have never applied it while the piece is on the lathe, but don't see any reason you could not ... just make sure your lathe is running SSSSLLLLOOOWWW!

It is food safe, easy to repair, and makes for a nice finish. I have used it on all kinds of turnings. I have never applied it while the piece is on the lathe, but don't see any reason you could not ... just make sure your lathe is running SSSSLLLLOOOWWW!
I was more wonder if it was ok to rub in by hand rather than on the lathe
It seems that people do it on the lathe to make friction and if doing by hand will I get the same result thanks