• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Turning Mesquite... a new desert dweller

I'm new to the desert and a guy I know is taking down a big mesquite in a few weeks. He says I can have some of it and I'd like to prepare.

I've roughed out and finished hundreds of bowls back east. I learned at CAW (Capitol Area Woodturners) and refined my methods working with Bill Grumbine in Pa.
But this is the desert and Mesquite is a pretty hard wood.
I do have some experience turning Live Oak and Pecan and Hickory. Not really a big fan of any of it

So my normal approach
Show up with my chain saw, slab out blanks (removing the middle annual ring), paint/wax on both ends and try to recover from the grueling work that can be.
At least a few days (and whatever cocktail and/or analgesic is necessary) I'd rough turn some of the above blanks, normally put the roughouts in shavings and wait some time.
Look in the bags of shaving to make sure no mold was happening
After a month or so in the shavings I'd throw the roughouts in a box an wait a year. Then I'd finish them out.

Questions.
1. Does this approach work in the desert with mesquite?
2. What needs to change?