• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Vance Stringham

Greetings everyone. I’m brand new to turning, and woodworking in general for that matter. My wife started a laser business (wood engraving, cutting, etc) in 2020. I help her with designing products and cut files. About the same time I developed an interest in wood turning. I started by watching several wood turners who regularly post videos on a streaming platform. Watching their techniques, errors, wins, and just trying to glean information. I decided I wanted to try it first hand and quickly learned it would be far cheaper to take up a professional cat rodeo tour. Then, earlier this year I was lucky enough to find a Jet JML-1014 with tools and accessories at an auction. Aside from some light surface rust on the bed it’s in excellent shape. Tools appear to be lower end but will work as an introductory set. My first and, to date, only work was to turn a rectangle stick into a round stick. I’ll call it a win. I picked up a variable speed grinder and a sharpening jig but still can’t properly sharpen a tool to save my life. Just the same, I am undaunted and know I have a good set of basics to start wi