• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

William Rosenberg

I am new to woodturning (past couple of years) but have absolutely fallen in love with it. My wife bought me a mini-lathe a few years ago for my birthday and the rest is history. Unfortunately, I don’t have a lot of free time to devote to it yet, but I’m making progress and (hopefully) will improve. On a personal note, I’m a neurosurgeon, father of two wonderful grown girls and grandfather to also wonderful 5 boys and a girl. In addition to woodturning, I enjoy carving and am very active in my synagogue.

As I said, I have very limited free time and therefore I’m always looking for people with whom I can arrange one-on-one learning at the lathe. I would welcome any suggestions, especially within striking distance of Kansas City, but I’m also willing to travel anywhere, time allowing. Thank you and I’m excited to be part of this community.

Bill

Welcome to AAW. Sounds like YouTube might be a great resource for you. I has taught me a lot! Mike Peace, Tim Yoder, older Carl Jacobson videos too just to name a few.