• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Zack Soderquist

Hello Everyone. My name is Zack Soderquist. I am originally from North Dakota but I have lived the last 25 years in Lincoln, NE. I am a computer guy by trade but I wanted a hobby that got me away from technology (as much as possible). So I started off building wooden ship models. A friend gave me a WEN 8 Inch Lathe for Christmas so I could turn my own masts for ships. With the model I was working on at the time, it was going to be at least a year before I got to the masts and I wanted to try out the lathe sooner than that. So I bought stuff to turn some pens for Christmas presents and I was hooked (haven't touched my model since).

Since then I have upgraded my lathe to a Jet 1221VS lathe and plan on acquiring a Baell buffing system to convert my 8 inch WEN to a permanent buffing system. I started out buying some Benjamin's Best lathe tools but recently I started upgrading my tools to D-Way tools. Man, what a difference.Jimmie and Cindy have been great, and very patient answering my hundreds of questions about tools and sharpening.