• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Will Armstrong for "Gold Carved Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 20th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

3/4 16 to 3/4 10 spindle adapter

Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum and relatively new to turning. I've had a lathe (craftsman) for 30 years but never had much time to use it.. I probably used it 5 times since I got it. I've really gotten into turning in the past 2 months and thrown some 10" logs on the lathe and quickly found out it is not very sturdy - I've riveted the guide bar under the round bar the banjo and tailstock ride on twice and its loose again, I've been jamming shims under the toolrest to keep it steady. Anyway, I came across a lathe on Craigslist for $100 and went looked at it last week. Not top quality but seemed much sturdier than the craftsman so i bought it but haven't set it up yet. (it is a 1982 Ludell, I can't find any reference to Ludell lathe on the internet so they must have made one and stopped :)

(also ended up getting a 12" band saw from the same guy to replace my 10" model so I can cut blanks)

My issue is the craftsman lathe has a 3/4" 16 tpi spindle (hollow) and the "new" Ludell has a 3/4" 10 tpi spindle (solid), so 2 problems:
- I can't find a 3/4" 10 to 3/4" 16 adapter anywhere to allow me to use my old faceplates and a jaw chuck I bought last month (another issue I'll get to in a minute)