• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Is a bowl gouge the only option

I’m a turner of three years and just like the rest I’m still learning and questioning. I’ve noticed lately that maybe I’ve been thinking inside the box too much. What I mean is, I’ve noticed that the “bowl gouge†is not necessarily the only way to turn a bowl. Without mentioning names, one frequent contributor to the forum (with 11 videos on photo bucket{m.m}), is using a different type “gouge†to rough down the exterior of some bowls. I'm very curious about the technique as well as some others I've seen. Of course, i’m always looking to improve and numerous questions come to mind about what type gouge it is, etc. Since there isn’t a local turning club I’m relegated to lurking in the shadows and occasionally posting on the forum or searching the net. Also, while at the AAW symposium some of the demonstrators were using a different grind to finish turn the interior of bowls as well as the exterior. I don’t recall any post about these grinds. Anyone else noticed these things? As always, thanks for your insight.

Mike,

I don't think there is one grind fits all on bowl gouges. A lot the famous turners have developed their unique shape signature pieces. They modify the grind for them to push the limit in their design. For example, the picture below is Stuart Batty's work at Channel Islands Woodturners Club demo: