• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Just where did that wood come from, anyway?

I have been turning for about ten years, and find or am given 95% of the wood that use. But i occasionally buy a piece now and then to accent my work. My question will "out me" as a tree hugging liberal, but is there a way to tell if that bought piece is from the rainforrests of Central America? I really don't want to support that industry.
My second question is a bit more controversal. Does the AAW have a stand on this issue?

a sore topic indeed