• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Steady Rest - Metal Construction vs Plywood, Opinions Please

I have some experience with steady rests constructed with plywood (there was noticeable flexing). It seems reasonable to conclude that a metal fabricated steady rest would be more rigid (but I'm not certain). Opinions if you PLEASE: are the metal rests more rigid? if so, is the added expense of metal worth the investment?
THANKS

I have no experience of using a steady rest, but may I say, so many folks seem to strive to fabricate perfectly circular rests when this doesn’t seem necessary. A friend recently made a square plywood steady and he says it works perfectly well. Good luck with your project Daniel, whatever material you choose. ;)

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert