• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

What's Your Favorite Skew Chisel?

Or is that an oxymoron?
I'm new at turning but I like my 3/4" Pinnacle . It has a slight radius grind.

Joe

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
A sharp one. It doesn't matter to me what shape it is. I have skews from 1/16" to 3", oval, flat, and round. I've been using an oval skew for years with a straight edge. It really doesn't matter to me if it's oval or not. I turn equally well with a rectangular shaped skew although I think a rounded bottom is very nice if not necessary. I prefer the straight edge to the curved edge because I like the way I can work with the toe and heel with the straight edge. My most used skew is a 1" oval skew, the second most used is a homemade 3/8" that I made from a 3/8" spade bit. This one is used for all small turnings.

Website
www.cobwebcrafts.co.uk
skew

I use two more than any others...

A Hamlet oval-section with a straight grind, and a Henry Taylor round skew which I find a very sympathetic tool in use. Having said that I also use my 3/8 beading and parting tool in "skew mode" more and more...I guess I'm getting lazy and can't be bothered to change tools, and as I can often get the same results with skew and beading tool I just get on and use it.